CCSI Plastic Crowncap Database - Brewer/Bottler
| Brewer/bottler #300|
|Name|| Frederic Robinson Ltd. |
|Address|| Lower Hillgate, SK1 1JJ |
|Extra info|| William Robinson purchased the Unicorn Inn from Samuel Hole on the 29th September 1838. The inn thrived for many years under the guidance of William and his oldest son George, who brewed the first Robinsons Ale in 1849.|
In 1859, Frederic Robinson took over from George and bought a warehouse to the rear of the inn to expand brewing capacity. As a result, Robinsons ale became available at pubs around the Stockport area. To control the quality of ale sold, Frederic began to purchase public houses. From 1878 until his death in 1890, Frederic established twelve pubs which exclusively served his ale. This was the beginning of what was to become an estate of over 300 pubs across the North West of England and North Wales.
The Unicorn Brewery, as it's known today, still rests on the foundations of the public house on Lower Hillgate in Stockport, Cheshire.
The brewery continues to be run by the fifth and sixth generations of the Robinson family. The company took over Hartley's Brewery in Ulverston in 1982, closing it and transferring the brewing of Hartley's beers to Stockport in 1991. Robinsons have acquired a number of other breweries over the years, including John Heginbotham, Stalybridge (1915); T. Schofield & Son, Ashton under Lyne (1926); Kays Atlas Brewery, Ardwick (1929) and Bell & Co, Stockport (1949).
In December 2014, Robinsons announced a company re-brand. Keeping the Robinsons name whilst restyling their iconic Unicorn logo.
|Other names used for this Brewer/bottler|